Know the Rules in Missouri on Auto Accident Insurance and Settlement Payouts
It’s important to understand Missouri’s laws for car accident insurance and settlements. If you don’t, you could end up having serious financial problems if you’re ever a victim in an accident. Let’s talk about the laws in more detail.
Do You Have to Have Car Insurance if You Don’t Own a Car?
In the State of Missouri, once you get your driver’s license, you’re responsible for also getting insurance. Still, 13.5% of all drivers in the state are uninsured. You’re required to carry a minimum of:
– $25,000 for injuries per person
– $10,000 for any property damages
– $50,000 per accident to cover injuries
Understanding “No Pay, No Play”
If you’re uninsured, this law states that you are waiving your right to collect non-economic loss money in the event of an accident. The other insurance company would be held responsible for your medical bills, but that is all. Anything else – lost wages, damages, etc. – would be a loss for you. This law is in place as a way to encourage people to get car insurance, and it is a penalty for those who aren’t insured.
Of course, the most important thing you can do if you’re in an accident is talk to a St. Louis auto accident attorney. They’ll explain the law to you and how it applies to your current situation. If you’ve been in an accident, contact a St. Louis auto accident attorney right away.