Missouri’s Distracted Driving Law – What to Know
Texting while driving is very dangerous, and in Missouri it's now illegal for drivers under the age of 21. This is a fairly new law that has gotten some interesting feedback. Many believe that it shouldn't only apply to people who are below the age of 21. Of course, there are others who think that the law simply isn't fair. Let's talk about this in more detail.
Missouri's Distracted Driving Law
The law states the following: Any person 21 years of age or younger who operates a moving motor vehicle while sending, reading, or writing a text or electronic message by means of a hand-held electronic wireless communications device will be guilty of an infraction.
The consequences include two points on the individual's license, as well as a $200 fine.
The Reason for the New Distracted Driving Law
Research has shown that texting while driving is one of the main causes for accidents among drivers between the ages of 16 and 21. While it's not a good idea for anyone to use their cell phone while they're behind the wheel, there are significant risks for this particular age group.
A St. Louis car accident attorney may be needed if you're in an accident with someone because of distracted driving. People who break this law don't realize the harm they could potentially cause to others.
Contact your St. Louis car accident attorney to learn more.